For Old – New Names Past Papers Mcqs, Click Here

New Name Old Name
Ankara (Capital of Turkey) Angora
Athens (Capital of Greece) Athinai
Attock Cambellpur
Bangladesh East Pakistan
Beijing (Capital of China) Peking
Bengaluru (Capital of Karnataka, India) Bengalore
Bin Qasim (Sindh, Pakistan) Pipri /Pepri
Botswana (Country in Southern Africa) Bechuanaland
Burkina Faso (Country in West Africa) Upper Volta
Cambodia Kampuchea
Chennai (City in Tamil Nadu, India) Madras
Congo River (in Africa) Zaire River
Democratic Republic of the Congo Republic of Zaire
Democratic Republic of Madagascar Malagasy Republic
Dhaka (Capital of Bangladesh) Dacca
Ethiopia Abyssinia/Habesha
Faisalabad (Pakistan) Lyallpur
France Gaul
Ghana* Gold Coast
Greater Iqbal Park (Lahore) Minto Park
Gujranwala Khanpur
Guyana (Country in South America) British Guiana
Hawaiian Islands (U.S state in Central Pacific) Sandwich Islands
Harare (Capital of Zimbabwe) Salisbury
Hazara (Division in KPK, Pakistan) Hozar
Ho Chi Minh City (City in Vietnam) Saigon
Hungary Magyar
Hyderabad (City in Sindh, Pakistan) Nerunkot / Nayaran kot
Indonesia Dutch East Indies
Iran Persia
Iraq Mesopotamia
Islamabad (Capital of Pakistan) Raj Shahi
Istanbul (City in Turkey) Constantinople
Jacobabad (City in Sindh, Pakistan) Khangarh
Jakarta (Capital of Indonesia) Batavia
Japan* Nippon + Nihon
Kalaallit Nunnat** Greenland
Karachi Kalachi / Kalanchi
Karnataka (Indian State) Mysore State
Kinshasa (Capital of Democratic Congo) Leopoldville
Kolkata (City in West Bengal, India) Calcutta
Lahore (Pakistan) Mehmoodpur
Muslim Bagh Hindu Bagh
New York City New Amsterdam
Libya Tripolitania and Cyrenaica / Tripolitania and Barca
Timor-Leste / Timir Lorosae East Timor
Malawi (Country in Southeastern Africa) Nyasaland
Malaysia Malaya
Manchuria*** Manchukuo
Mianwali Mian Ali
Mumbai (City in Maharashtra, India) Bombay
Myanmar Burma
Mysuru (City in Karnataka State, India) Mysore
Namibia South-West Africa
Odisha (Indian State) Orissa
Oslo (Capital of Norway) Christiania
Pakpattan Ajodhanpur
Peshawar Persha Pur
Pune (City in Maharashtra, India) Poona
Quetta (Pakistan) Shalkot
Sahiwal (Pakistan) Montgomery
Saint Petersburg (City in Russia)** Petrograd / Leningrad
Sialkot Salkot / Salwan kot
Sri Lanka**** Ceylon
Sukkur Bakhar
Suriname Dutch Guiana
Switzerland Helvetia
Swat Rowdayana
Taiwan Formosa
Tanzania Tanganyika and Zanzibar
Thailand Siam
The Netherlands Holland
Tokyo (Capital of Japan) Edo
Vienna (Capital of Austria) Wien
Volgograd (City in Russia) Stalingrad
Yangon (Largest city in Myanmar) Rangoon
Zambia Northern Rhodesia
Zimbabwe* Southern Rhodesia
Zhob (City in Balochistan, Pakistan) Appozai / Fort Sanemars

* Ghana was the first independent country in Africa.The Republic of Ghana is named after the medieval West African Ghana Empire. The Empire became known in Europe and Arabia as the Ghana Empire after the title of its emperor, the Ghana.

On 6 March 1957, the former British colony of Gold Coast became an independent state of Ghana.

The name Zimbabwe was officially adopted concurrently with Britain’s grant of independence in April 1980. Prior to that point, the country had been called

  • Southern Rhodesia from 1898 to 1964 (or 1980, according to British law),
  • Rhodesia from 1964 to 1979,
  • Zimbabwe Rhodesia between June and December 1979.

* Both Nippon and Nihon mean ‘the Sun’s origin’ are often translated as Land of Rising Sun.

** The name of the country in the indigenous Greenlandic language is Kalaallit Nunaat (“land of the Kalaallit”). The Kalaallit are the indigenous Greenlandic Inuit people who inhabit the country’s western region

*** Manchuria can either refer to a region that falls entirely within the People’s Republic of China or a larger region divided between China and Russia. Former Manchukuo was a puppet state of the Empire of Japan in Northeast China and Inner Mongolia from 1932 until 1945. It was founded as a republic, but in 1934 it became a constitutional monarchy. It had limited international recognition and was de facto under the control of Japan.

** Between 1713 and 1728 and in 1732–1918, Saint Petersburg was the capital of Imperial Russia. In 1918, the central government bodies moved to Moscow.

  • On 1 September 1914, the name was changed from Saint Petersburg to Petrograd,
  • On 26 January 1924 name was changed to Leningrad.
  • On 1 October 1991 back to Saint Petersburg.

** Occupied by the Portuguese in the 16th century and by the Dutch in the 17th century, the island was ceded to the British in 1796, became a crown colony in 1802, and was united under British rule by 1815. It became independent as Dominion of Ceylon on 4 February,1948; Dominion status within the British Commonwealth was retained for the next 24 years until May 22, 1972 and was changed to Republic of Sri Lanka.

Read more