

Timeline of Constitutional Development of Pakistan

Here, you will have the Timeline of the Constitutional Development of Pakistan from 1947 to the current decade of 2021.

Brief Background Constitutional History:

By the end of World War II, the British imperial government granted independence to its Indian colony and for that matter, the British Parliament enacted the Indian Independence Act, 1947. Under the Act, the British Crown relinquished its sovereign powers over India and transferred those powers to the newly established dominions of India and Pakistan on 14 August 1947. The Government of India Act, 1935, hitherto the constitution of British India, was amended to bring it in consonance with the aims and objectives of independence as laid down in the 1947 Act. The combination of these two constitutional instruments served as an interim constitutional order for both countries until their respective constituent assemblies adopted their own constitutions.

Visit here for MCOs of Constitutions of Pakistan



Constitutions of Pakistan MCQs



Mar-1949

Sep-1950

Timeline of Constitutional Development of Pakistan

Timeline of Constitutional Development of **Pakistan**

The Objective Resolution - the first document of

constitutional nature - introduced and adopted by the first Aug-1947 Constituent Assembly amid opposition from the Pakistan

National Congress, the only opposition party consisting of

Hindu minority from East Pakistan.

The Objective Resolution - the first document of

constitutional nature - introduced and adopted by the first Constituent Assembly amid opposition from the Pakistan

National Congress, the only opposition party consisting of

Hindu minority from East Pakistan.

Interim Report of the Basic Principle Committee

introduced in the Constituent Assembly, but due to public opposition from Bengal and Punjab on the federal formula,

debate on the report postponed.

Basic Principle Committee Report is introduced in the Dec-1952

assembly for discussion.

Report of the Basic Principle Committee is adopted as the Sep-1954

First Constituent Assembly is dissolved by the Governor-Oct-1954

General Ghulam Muhammad.

Indirect elections held / nominations made to the second Jun-1954

Constituent Assembly.

One-Unit constituted, combining the four provinces and Sep-1955

ten princely states of West Pakistan.

Feb-1956 1956 Constitution promulgated.

1956 Constitution is abrogated and martial law imposed. October 1958

General Ayub Khan takes over the reins of power.

General Ayub Khan promulgates the 1962 Constitution **Jun-1962**

through an executive order.

General Ayub Khan steps down and hands over the reins Mar-1969

of power to his successor General Muhammad Yahya Khan who imposes second martial law in the country.

One-Unit is dismantled and Legal Framework Order is Mar-1970

issued to serve as the interim constitution.

First general elections on adult franchise were held in the Dec-1970

East Pakistan secedes after a brief and bloody civil war,

General Yahya Khan steps down and Mr. Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto takes over as the first civilian martial law

administrator.

First Tripartite Accord between the Pakistan Peoples Mar-1972

Party and the coalition of National Awami Party and

Jamiat-ul-Ulema Pakistan.

Apr-1973 1973 Constitution adopted. Nov-1985

Parliament passed the 8th Amendment to 1973 Constitution giving legal and constitutional cover to the suspension of the constitution and all acts of General Ziaul Haq between the suspension and restoration of the constitution.

Apr-1997

Aug-2002

Dec-2003

Nov-2007

Dec-1971

The civil government of Nawaz Sharif restored some powers of the Prime Minister under the 1973 constitution which were taken away by 8th Amendment and also took away power of the President to dissolve the National Assembly in his discretion.

General Musharraf launches the third military coup, suspends the constitution, dismisses the federal and Oct-1999 provincial governments, assumes the office the Chief Executive, declares state of emergency and promulgates

the Provincial Constitutional Order, 1999.

Jun-2001 Musharraf assumes the office of the President of Pakistan.

Musharraf issued the Legal Framework Order, 2002, providing for the general elections of 2001, restoration of

the 1973 constitution with numerous amendments. Parliament passed the 17th Amendment in the 1973

constitution, incorporating the Legal Framework Order, 2002 into the constitution, reversing the 13th Amendment by bringing the Prime Minister and National Assembly,

once again, under the thumb of the President, which

office was occupied by General Musharraf.

Musharraf issued another Legal Framework Order No.1 of 2007, assuming to himself the power of amending the constitution, and suspending the fundamental rights. He

steps down as the military chief and is sworn as the

President for the third term.



Timeline of Constitutional Development of Pakistan

General elections held in the country, in which General Feb-2008

Musharraf's supported party was defeated.

Musharraf resigns from the office of President under Aug-2008

intense pressure and ahead of impeachment charges.

 $18^{\mbox{\tiny th}}$ Amendment, removing discretionary powers of the President to dissolve the national assembly and restoring

to the office of Prime Minister all powers under the Apr-2010 constitution that were taken by the military dictators General Ziaul Haq and Mussharaf, and turning Pakistan

from a semi-presidential to parliamentary system.

Download in pdf now **Timeline of Constitutional Development of Pakistan**