

What country's parliament is known as the Oireachtas?

- A. Ireland
- B. Scotland
- C. Wales
- D. Northern Ireland

Show Answer...

Correct Answer: A (Ireland)

Explanation:

The Oireachtas is the national parliament of Ireland, located in its capital city of Dublin. The parliament is composed of two houses: the Dáil Éireann (House of Representatives) and the Seanad Éireann (Senate).

The Oireachtas is responsible for passing laws, approving the national budget, and overseeing the work of the government. The parliament also has the power to impeach the President of Ireland and other high-ranking officials.

Since gaining independence from British rule in 1922, Ireland has held several parliamentary elections, with the most recent one taking place in 2020. The country has a rich democratic tradition and is known for its strong civil society and engagement with political issues.

The Oireachtas is an important institution in Ireland's political system, and its work is closely watched by both the Irish people and the international community. The parliament plays a crucial role in shaping the country's future and ensuring that the voices of all citizens are heard.

Consider linking to these articles:

Copy linkWhich country is also known as the "Land of the Rising Sun"?

Copy linkWhat is the National Fruit of Pakistan?



What country's parliament is known as the Oireachtas?

Copy linkThe extreme form of patriotism is known as what?

Copy linkWhat is the capital of the Republic of Ireland?

Copy linkWhich from the following countries is NOT a member of **European Union?**

Copy linkQantas is the airline of which country?

Copy linkWhich country was Singapore previously part of?

Copy linkWhat country's parliament is known as the Milli Mejlis?

Copy linkWho is the current 2022 Deputy Speaker of the National **Assembly of Pakistan?**

Copy linkBenefits For Paid Users of CSS MCQs