

What is the parliament of Cyprus called?

- A. House of Representatives
- B. Parliament of Cyprus
- C. National Assembly
- D. Congress

Show Answer...

Correct Answer: A (House of Representatives)

Explanation:

The House of Representatives is the unicameral parliament of the Republic of Cyprus, located in the capital city of Nicosia. The parliament is composed of 80 members who are elected for a term of five years.

The House of Representatives is responsible for passing laws, approving the national budget, and overseeing the work of the government. The parliament also has the power to impeach the President of Cyprus and other high-ranking officials.

Since gaining independence from British colonial rule in 1960, Cyprus has held several parliamentary elections, with the most recent one taking place in 2021. The country has a long history of political instability and conflict, including a period of civil war in the 1960s and a division of the island between Greek and Turkish Cypriot communities since 1974.

The House of Representatives plays a crucial role in Cyprus's political system, and its work is closely watched by both the Cypriot people and the international community. The parliament is a key institution in the country's efforts to build a peaceful and prosperous future for all its citizens.